May Wrap-Up: 2024 Edition

Truly I didn’t think I read as much as I did in May, but given that most of the books I read were graphic novels or manga it makes sense that it didn’t seem like a lot to me. Anyway, here’s the 8 books I read in May and my thoughts on each one.

Book #1

The Heartstopper Yearbook by Alice Oseman

Rating: 5 out of 5.

Start/end: 5/10/24

Getting to see how Alice Oseman created Heartstopper and getting all of the little extras was such a fun time and really added to this world and these characters so much.

Book #2

Heartstopper Vol. 1 by Alice Oseman

Rating: 5 out of 5.

Start/end: 5/11/24

Every time I read this it’s like a little boost of serotonin and a warm hug all wrapped up into one book

{reread}

Book #3

Heartstopper Vol. 2 by Alice Oseman

Rating: 5 out of 5.

Start/end: 5/12/24

What can I say at this point besides for I love this series so much and I will take NO criticism on this book or series at all. Charlie’s friend group is truly something to strive for.

{reread}

Book #4

Heartstopper Vol. 3 by Alice Oseman

Rating: 5 out of 5.

Start/end: 5/17/24

Rereading this after watching season 2 of the show was so fun. Going back to the novel after seeing it on screen was so lovely and as always the Paris setting it top tier.

{reread}

Book #5

Angels of Death Vol. 1 by Makoto Sanada

Rating: 3 out of 5.

Start/end: 5/18/24

I’m still not really sure what there is to say about this to be honest. It was a fun time, like I did make fun of most of it, so obviously it wasn’t really scary for me at all. I am totally going to be reading the rest of the series because I want to know where this is going. Overall though it was just a fun time.

Book #6

Milk & Mocha Comics Collection: Our Little Happiness by Melani Sie

Rating: 5 out of 5.

Start/end: 5/22/24

Someone explain to me how I never knew these little bears had names?? I use them all the time and when I saw this I had to read it asap. This is a cup of tea, a warm hug, and pure happiness all wrapped up into one book.

Camping Trip Reads!

Book #7

Good Girl Complex by Elle Kennedy

Rating: 4.5 out of 5.

Start/end: 5/25/24 – 5/29/24

I always love a good Elle Kennedy romance and this was no different. Getting to see Mac and Cooper’s relationship develop and grow was so lovely. And the small seaside town setting was *chefs kiss*

Book #8

When In Rome by Sarah Adams

Rating: 3.5 out of 5.

Start/end: 5/29/24 – 5/30/24

3.75 stars

I read this just about fully in one afternoon curled up on a sunny day while camping and it was great. Totally a great summery small town romcom to read in one sitting while on a trip or just a warm afternoon.

Before You Go..

That’s all, for now….

Hope you have a good summer! Happy reading….

~Phoenix

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started